So, I wanted to start off the year by explaining my mental health trip I took in 2010.  I have always been a little different, I needed to control my environment.  I always had a plan, even if it was only for the day.  I would write lists, number them and mathematically simplify them down.  Without spending all night writing down my symptoms, I was diagnosed with anxiety disorder that was bordering on OCD.  I don’t know what happened, but after Owen was born I couldn’t take it.  My “coping mechanisms”  where no longer working.  So, I went to see my family doctor and she started my on an anti anxiety medication.  This was the summer of 2009.  It worked GREAT!!  I finally felt normal, but late 2010 I started slipping back to my old habits and trying to “cope” was only making it worse.  So the real success of my story started when I decided to see a psychiatrist.   If you are reading this and think you may have a mental health issue, make a point to see your doctor, any doctor.  Don’t suffer – I did for 12 years (or more) before I decided to seek help.  Your life can get better.  But sometimes you have to know your worst so that when you start to get better and find yourself slipping you know right away that something is amiss.  Which has happened many times during this time of my life.  Not only do I hope that what I blog about helps someone else, but it will also serve to help remind me how far I have come and what has worked for me in case I forget 🙂

