There is always that one person in a family that stands out.  I don’t mean in a good way either.  They are the ones who make all the bad choices and the whole family seems to suffer because of it.  Usually they are an addict of some sort, drugs, alcohol, love and all the above.  Nate’s family has one and so does mine.  I think the way for me to deal with them is to accept them.  For the most part, there is nothing I can do.  Is there really anything I can do or say to make them better?  I really don’t think so.  And if the family chooses to help them, well that is their choice and they will suffer the consequences of that.  It makes me mad that the family’s suffers because of them, but again it is their choice to help them.  So, I guess I have reached a point, I don’t care.  They will do what they want no matter who says or does what.  So way should I worry?  I’ll miss them if they pass away, and I love them, I am just not going to suffer with them.  I don’t want my kids to be around drug addicts, or drunks.  They don’t need to see it, so I will chose to take them out of those situations if I have to.  But if a person can stay clean for the hour we visit – great!  If they chose to be high, then they will miss out on me and my kids.  But I will still love them just the same, just not support their decisions.

