I feel old lately. I have about three years to thirty, and I don’t know if I like it.  Yesterday, Nate and I had a conversation about retirement.  What are we gonna do?  When Nate got the job, we really didn’t have a clue what then benefits where.  We just knew he needed the job.  So as I panicked on our finances (I always do), we managed to figure out how much he will have.  He is part of the PERS program and falls under a special category because he is a deputized officer.  They give him 1.8 percent of his last average salary for how ever many years he put in, and they won’t pay out until he is 60 years old.  I don’t want to tell you all how much he makes, but he does make enough for me not to have to work, carry a mortgage and one small car payment.  And there is nothing left after that.  He is 27 now, so if he doesn’t quite or get fired, he will have put in 33 years when he hits 60.  That means they will pay him 1.8 percent till his ninety third birthday.  I hope we don’t live much longer then that!!  If we live longer then that, we’ll sell the house and it can pay for a home!  If he can can gross 4,500 to 5,000 a month thirty years from now.  That means he would get 8,100 to 9,000 a month from them or about a $100,000 a year for thirty three freakin years!!  I can’t believe it, I about lost it, that is THREE MILLION DOLLARS!!  And if we get social security and when I start working and start my retirement, my goodness we will be just fine.  I told Nate he can’t get sick, he can’t die all those things that you never see coming, our retirement counts on it.  This all started when we where talking about the house.  We don’t have money every month to put into it.  We have an account with Englund Marine that we are debating on liquidating to pay for the house remodeling and to get rid of the monthly car payment or for me to finish school if I want to (still would rather just answer phones at a school – low stress).  It means we pay taxes on the money, plus the 10% fee and we will not reap the benefits thirty years from now when it quadurples in value.  I know all you money people will tell me to leave it be and get a home equity line of credit – but I want my house done!!  I don’t want anymore payments!!  I want to own my car!!  I want, I want, I want.  And I wanna retire someday

